Internal Complaints Committee

With regard to the Supreme Court Judgement and guidelines issued in 1997 for the protection of the basic human rights for gender equality and guarantee against sexual harassment and abuse, it is necessary for employers to observe certain guidelines to ensure the prevention of sexual harassment of women at workplace. The members of the committee will ensure confidentiality of all matters related to the committee. A non disclosure agreement will have to be signed by each member; failing to comply to the confidentiality clause will result in a suspension from the committee and a payment of a fine of Rupees one thousand only.

Procedure for approaching Committee

a. Sexual harassment of co-employee, student, or any other person(s) including such unwelcome sexually determined behavior (whether directly or by implication) within or outside the campus (during official tours);

1. Physical contact and advances

2. Demand or request for sexual favors

3. Sexually colored remarks

4. Showing pornography

5. Other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature

6. Gender based insults or sexist remarks

7. Touching or brushing against any part of the body and the like

8. Displaying pornographic or other offensive or derogatory pictures, cartoons, pamphlets or sayings

9. Forcible physical touch or molestation

10. Physical confinement against one’s will and any other act likely to violate one’s privacy

Procedure for Enquiry

a. Any employee or students who feel that a violation of this policy has occurred should immediately report the matter to the Chairperson within two weeks of the incident. If a complaint is made after two weeks, the committee will decide whether to take it up for enquiry or not.

b. If that person is unavailable or the employee believes it would be inappropriate to contact the Chairperson, the complainant should contact any representative of the Committee.

c. Any complaint against any faculty or employee or student shall be submitted to the Chairperson in writing (hard copy) with the details of the complainant such as Name, Department, Contact Number and Adress. Depending on the gravity of the complaint the Chairperson will convene the Committee to look into the complaint and to suggest recommendations for action.

d. Any employee or student who is found to have committed any act of misconduct will be served with a letter from the Chairperson stating the charges leveled against him/her. Such an employee or student will be given an opportunity to explain and answer the charges leveled against her/him in the Committee. The complainant may also be required to appear before the Committee.

e. The Committee may constitute a sub-committee for investigating the complaint.

f. The Sub committee will submit the report to the CASH and at least two thirds of the members should be present for any decision to be made.

g. The Committee will then submit their findings and recommendations to the Registrar

In terms of the provisions contained vide Chapter 5, Section 26(a) of the Martin Luther Christian University Act, 2005 read with Statute 6.2.3 (b) of the MLCU Statutes, 2013 and approved by the Board of Management in its meeting held on June 16, 2014 the constitution of Committee Against Sexual Harassment was constituted.
The Committee consists of members of the faculty, administration, an external expert and students’ representatives. The terms of office of the members will be one year and all members of the committee will be renewed up to two years in office. The Members of the Committee for the Academic Year 2017-2018 are:
1.   Dr.Ardonister Lyngdoh, Assistant Dean, Academics: Chairperson
2.   Ms. Melissa D Kyndiah, Faculty, Department of Psychology: Secretary
3.   Ms. Naphibanmer Wankhar,Faculty, Department of Allied Health Sciences: Member
4.   Mr. Sangyal Tamang, Faculty, Department of Information Technology: Member
5.   Rev. Elungkiebe Zeliang, Faculty, Department of Conflict Management and Peace Initiatives: Member
6.   Ms. Lalrinmuani Kingbawl, Faculty , Department of English and Communication: Member
7.   Dr. Ms. Larilin Kharpuri, Faculty , Department of Environment and
Traditional Ecosystems: Member

8.   Ms. Adlene Shylla, Faculty , Department of Economics, Management and Commerce Studies: Member

9.   Mr. Donovan Swer, Faculty , Department of Music : Member

10.  Ms. Badarishisha Kharwanlang, , Faculty , Department of Tourism and Travel Management : Member

11.  Ms. Akashi Aye, Faculty , Department of Theology : Member

12. Dr. Ms. Lavinia Mawlong, Faculty , Centre for Gender Studies & Life Skills Education : Member

13. Ms. Riyan Yimchunger, Officer, Students' Affairs Committee: Member
14. Ms. Joy Syiem, External Expert: Member
15. Student Representatives: Members
a.   Mr. Lang Khan Chin, 2nd Semester, Master of Theology
b.   Ms. Ibadahun Shisha Nongrum, 6th Semester, Bachelor of Business Administration

Click here for Handbook on Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace

Last updated on 1st June, 2020

Mission Statement

To contribute to the sustainable development of Meghalaya and Northeast India, by providing knowledge, skills and values that will enable our students to become global citizens while upholding gender, ethnic and religious equity for all, conserving its bio-cultural heritage, and  by recognizing its Christian legacy and commitment .

Student's Pledge

We the incoming/outgoing students of the Martin Luther Christian University vow to always uphold the principles of Honesty, Sustainability, Tolerance and Respect, Quality, Perseverance, Humility, Teamwork, Leadership, Accountability and Recognition as upheld to us in the University. This pledge we make freely, fully understanding that these values will make us good humans and role models.

Contact Details

Martin Luther Christian University
Dongktieh, Block -1,
Nongrah, Shillong 793006
Ph: 0364-2535437/6009602012

E-mail: ,,

Registrar: 9862035368
Deputy Registrar: 9862853164
Dean, Academics: 9615137874
Dean, Research: 8974599017