Internal Complaints Committee

Internal Complaints Committee

With regard to the Supreme Court Judgement and guidelines issued in 1997 for the protection of the basic human rights for gender equality and guarantee against sexual harassment and abuse, it is necessary for employers to observe certain guidelines to ensure the prevention of sexual harassment of women at workplace. The members of the committee will ensure confidentiality of all matters related to the committee. A non disclosure agreement will have to be signed by each member; failing to comply to the confidentiality clause will result in a suspension from the committee and a payment of a fine of Rupees one thousand only.

Procedure for approaching Committee

a. Sexual harassment of co-employee, student, or any other person(s) including such unwelcome sexually determined behavior (whether directly or by implication) within or outside the campus (during official tours);

1. Physical contact and advances

2. Demand or request for sexual favors

3. Sexually colored remarks

4. Showing pornography

5. Other unwelcome physical, verbal or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature

6. Gender based insults or sexist remarks

7. Touching or brushing against any part of the body and the like

8. Displaying pornographic or other offensive or derogatory pictures, cartoons, pamphlets or sayings

9. Forcible physical touch or molestation

10. Physical confinement against one’s will and any other act likely to violate one’s privacy

Procedure for Enquiry

a. Any employee or students who feel that a violation of this policy has occurred should immediately report the matter to the Chairperson within two weeks of the incident. If a complaint is made after two weeks, the committee will decide whether to take it up for enquiry or not.

b. If that person is unavailable or the employee believes it would be inappropriate to contact the Chairperson, the complainant should contact any representative of the Committee.

c. Any complaint against any faculty or employee or student shall be submitted to the Chairperson in writing (hard copy) with the details of the complainant such as Name, Department, Contact Number and Adress. Depending on the gravity of the complaint the Chairperson will convene the Committee to look into the complaint and to suggest recommendations for action.

d. Any employee or student who is found to have committed any act of misconduct will be served with a letter from the Chairperson stating the charges leveled against him/her. Such an employee or student will be given an opportunity to explain and answer the charges leveled against her/him in the Committee. The complainant may also be required to appear before the Committee.

e. The Committee may constitute a sub-committee for investigating the complaint.

f. The Sub committee will submit the report to the CASH and at least two thirds of the members should be present for any decision to be made.

g. The Committee will then submit their findings and recommendations to the Registrar

In terms of the provisions contained vide Chapter 5, Section 26(a) of the Martin Luther Christian University Act, 2005 read with Statute 6.2.3 (b) of the MLCU Statutes, 2013 and approved by the Board of Management in its meeting held on June 16, 2014 the constitution of Committee Against Sexual Harassment was constituted.
The Committee consists of members of the faculty, administration, an external expert and students’ representatives. The terms of office of the members will be one year and all members of the committee will be renewed up to two years in office. The Members of the Committee for the Academic Year 2017-2018 are:
1.   Dr.Bonnie M. Nicol, Faculty, Department of Allied Health Sciences: Chairperson
2.   Mr. John Paul B Kharmalki, Faculty, Department of Social Work: Secretary
3.   Mr. Mebanlamphang Lyngdoh,Faculty, Department of Fine Arts: Member
4.   Ms. Bansara Khyriem, University Counsellor: Member
5.   Ms. Laribha Dohtdong, Faculty, Department of Allied Health Sciences: Member
6.   Ms. Manbha Synrem, Faculty , Department of Computer Sciences: Member
7.   Ms. Gardinia Nongbri, Faculty , Department of Environment : Member
and Traditional Ecosystems
8.   Ms. Bashisha Rani, Faculty , Department of Tourism and Travel Management : Member
9.   Ms. Rupa Bakor Kharshiiing, Faculty , Department of Management and Commerce Studies : Member
10. Ms. Pamela Nonghuloo, Coordinator, Students’ Affairs Committee: Member
11. Ms. Eridakini Garod, Lawyer: Member
12. Student Representatives: Members
a.   Mr. Marjanki F. Hadem, 2nd Semester, Master of Business Administration
b.   Ms. Rashika Kropi, 2nd Semester, Bachelor of Tourism & Travel Management

Click here for Handbook on Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace

Last updated on 12th Feb, 2019

Skip to content